BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards

Prize Juries Editions

Basic Sciences 9th Edition (2016)

Theodor W. Hänsch
Director of the Division of Laser Spectroscopy. Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics. Nobel Laureate in Physics.
Francisco Guinea
Research Professor, IMDEA Nanoscience Institute. Spain
Trevor Hastie
John A. Overdeck Professor, Professor of Statistics and Professor of Biomedical Data Science. Stanford University. United States
Nigel Hitchin
Emeritus Savilian Professor of Geometry. University of Oxford. United Kingdom
Zakya H. Kafafi
Adjunct Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Lehigh University. Estados Unidos
Carmen Menoni
University Distinguished Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Colorado State University. United States
Martin Quack
Head of Molecular Kinetics and Spectroscopy Group. ETH Zurich. Switzerland
Sandip Tiwari
Charles N. Mellowes Professor of Engineering. Cornell University. United States
Xueming Yang
Distinguished research fellow, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics. Chinese Academy of Sciences. China
The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are decided in two stages. The first involves technical evaluation committees and the second prize juries made up of internationally reputed experts; both acting independently of the other and relying solely on the standards and metrics of excellence proper to the subject area. Responsibility for determining the composition of the technical evaluation committees is shared between the BBVA Foundation and the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), which proposes the chair of each prize jury. The BBVA Foundation also confers with the CSIC on the appointment of remaining jury members.